Vegan Friday: Quesadilla Florentine

quesadilla4web
Flatbread quesadillas make quick dinners.

Mod’s Coffeehouse in Tulsa serves vegan crepes one day a week, and they’ve got a killer Florentine crepe that introduced me to the miracle of Daiya shreds. Sadly, Mod’s is 450 miles away from where I live now, so I can’t just dash over there for lunch when the mood strikes. Poop. 😦

quesadilla3web
Secret weapon: flatbread.

I didn’t feel like running down a vegan crepe recipe the other day, so I just took the basic premise and turned it into a quick quesadilla.

This recipe has two secret weapons: Daiya mozzarella-style shreds (available at bigger supermarkets and most health-food stores) and Flat-Out bread, a thin, high-protein, whole-grain flatbread that’s somewhere between a tortilla and a pita and just about perfect for hearty wraps and quesadillas. I found Flat-Out at a Walgreens one night while I was picking up something else, and Schnuck’s has started carrying it recently. If you can’t find it, plain old whole-wheat tortillas will work in a pinch.

Ingredients:
Two pieces Flat-Out bread or two whole-wheat tortillas
Two small handfuls of baby spinach
Two small handfuls of sliced mushrooms
Roma tomato, sliced thinly
Two small handfuls Daiya mozzarella-style shreds
Margarine

quesadilla1web
Ignore the weird lighting, please. My range hood light confuses the camera.

Layer spinach, mushrooms, tomato and Daiya on half of a flatbread. Fold it over, put it on a microwavable plate, and repeat the process with the other flatbread.

quesadilla2web
Fold like this and microwave.

Microwave until Daiya starts to melt and spinach wilts (about a minute, but check after 30 seconds in case your microwave is unusually fast). Fry gently in melted margarine until browned on both sides.

Cut in half before serving. Serves two big people or four little people.

I like these because they’re a little different from your standard quesadilla, and the flatbread and mushrooms give them a protein boost.

4 thoughts on “Vegan Friday: Quesadilla Florentine”

  1. Yum. Just recently came across your website. Love all the information contained therein. May I suggest a new moniker? How ’bouts “Cape Town Hippie” or “The Heartland Hippie” or maybe “The Hippie’s Boothill”? Each seems to roll off the tongue nicely. Great to have you back home. Keep up the good work!

  2. Oh, Emily Priddy – one of Herrin’s shiniest stars. I get warm and cozy feelings just reflecting back on the days of roaming the high school hallways with such a precocious teenager. Let’s see, the last time we spoke, you were in the process of single-handedly reviving the struggling Riverview Gardens school district from its provisionally accredited state. Since your departure, they have only sunken further into a deep abyss. Their loss.

    Amanda and I continue to live in the southwest part of the St. Louis area in a town called Fenton, which is nestled comfortably between the Meramec River and your favorite thoroughfare of all – Route 66. Amanda is the local Walgreen’s pharmacist and we have an eleven year old son, Christian, who keeps us on the go.

    I was reading an article recently in the Post-Dispatch about a Southeast Missourian crime reporter’s demise and the following excerpt caught my attention: “They walked into the courtroom, past a chain gang of inmates in orange jumpsuits. Scott sat in the second row. A woman in a trench coat walked past, pad and pen in hand. Scott recognized her as the newspaper’s new court reporter.” I thought to myself, “Could the mysterious woman in the trench coat be Emily?” I bet so.

    In the not too distant future, Amanda’s mother is moving to Dexter, MO, a town I am sure you are familiar with. It would be great to stop by and visit you and Ron sometime and get a tour of your fabulous backyard oasis.

    1. I am laughing SO hard at this. I need you to know that one of our local judges called me up to the bench in the middle of court just to give me shit about that P-D article. And yes — you and Amanda and Christian absolutely need to come see us on your way to visit her mama. We’ll send you some hugs to deliver to her. I’d fill you in on our doings, except between the blog and the P-D, I think you’ve about got the upshot. Awesome to hear for you. Next time we’re in St. Louis, first round at Drewes’ is on me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

