Wayback Wednesday: Barbara Woodhouse

Back in my day, there was only one celebrity dog trainer, and her name was Barbara Woodhouse.

A lot of Woodhouse’s methods and suggestions seem questionable now, but in 1982, humans collectively knew a lot less about canine behavior than we do today, and in 1982, taking an aggressive or destructive dog to a shelter was basically sentencing it to death, because there was no such thing as a no-kill shelter.

If these were my clients, I’d obviously handle them differently. If Barbara Woodhouse were alive and well and training dogs today, she probably would, too. But given the historical context in which she worked, I don’t see how you can read her as anything but a hero, because she was literally saving dogs’ lives by enabling them to stay in loving homes instead of being sent off to die in shelters.

If you disagree, you probably need to get off my lawn.

Leave a comment