Befores and afters

I spent most of today searching for a paper towel dispenser I could mount below my cabinets. I have no idea why, but they’ve gotten rare as hens’ teeth. Why everybody wants to take up precious counter space with a paper towel holder is beyond me, but the kind that sit on the countertop were all I could find everywhere I went. We searched six stores before we finally found one at Menards.

Another thing that’s become scarce: Those three-tiered hanging fruit baskets like everybody’s mom had in the kitchen when we were kids. I try to keep fruit on hand for snacking, and I wanted a set of those hanging wire baskets like we had in our kitchen when I was little. No dice. I finally had to order a set from Amazon, because I couldn’t find them locally.

Anyway, after I rustled up a towel dispenser, I set to work cleaning the kitchen cabinets. My spice collection is ridiculous and was taking up half a standard cabinet and an entire corner of the counter. While I was at it, I organized a junk drawer. Here’s my handiwork, with a couple of fun little mini-recycling projects included:

This corner was just ... yeesh.
This corner was just … yeesh.
I can feel my blood pressure drop when I look at this countertop now.
I can feel my blood pressure drop when I look at this countertop now.
Stuff fits much better when you put it in proper storage containers. Even if you have to stash the noodles in a cotton-candy tub.
Stuff fits much better when you put it in proper storage containers. Even if you have to stash the noodles in a cotton-candy tub.
Good luck finding anything in that mess. Look at all that junk. And my last attempt at organizing the spices resulted in that gray tray, which corralled some of them nicely but made them impossible to get in or out of the cabinet.
Good luck finding anything in that mess. Look at all that junk. And my last attempt at organizing the spices resulted in that gray tray, which corralled some of them nicely but made them impossible to get in or out of the cabinet.
After. I merged a bunch of duplicate containers, took all the stuff that was stored in bags and put it in jars, and moved a bunch of spices to that new shelf I built yesterday, as the configuration of the cabinet was better for storing cans.
After. I merged a bunch of duplicate containers, took all the stuff that was stored in bags and put it in jars, and moved a bunch of spices to that new shelf I built yesterday, as the configuration of the cabinet was better for storing cans.
Junk drawer. Standard issue.
Junk drawer. Standard issue.
Yes, I sorted all the hardware into an old candy box. You know I'd be thrilled if Ron brought me a box of hardware for Valentine's Day.
Yes, I sorted all the hardware into an old candy box. You know I’d be thrilled if Ron brought me a box of hardware for Valentine’s Day.

I was kinda proud of myself for coming up with that candy box thing. And yes, that’s a sonic screwdriver in the drawer. Ron bought it for me last year. It’s an actual screwdriver, too. I love it.

Hope your day was productive, wherever you are.

Emily

2 thoughts on “Befores and afters”

  1. I tried organizing my spices when your dad finished that cabinet, but somehow even after throwing away some very old spices that I never use, I still wound up with more than I started with. I think spices secretly breed when the cabinet door is closed.

  2. They’re ridiculous. Plus for some reason, I always think I’m out of ginger, paprika, dill weed and 17th Street’s Magic Dust, so I buy more, make whatever it was I was planning to make, and then find the old container while I’m looking for something else. I merged SO many containers of duplicate spices. I also put all my Italian spices in a single jar and shook it up, because I never use just basil or just oregano or whatever, and I did the same thing with the Mexican spices, because there will never be a time when I am using cumin without red and green chile powder, paprika, garlic, onion and cocoa. I still have a lazy Susan and about half my new storage rack full of spices, but at least I can see my countertops now.

Leave a comment