Earth Day

I had a massage this morning and work this afternoon, but in between, I had just enough time to celebrate Earth Day by weeding the Darwin Garden, filling my raised beds with a mixture of compost and peat moss and getting my tomato seedlings into the ground.

Behold:

I'm really excited about these raised beds. Hopefully the tomatoes will like them.
I’m really excited about these raised beds. Hopefully the tomatoes will like them.
I still can't believe these fish survived the awful winter we had.
I still can’t believe these fish survived the awful winter we had.
Darwin Garden is going strong, with arugula already going to seed and chives, sage and strawberries blooming.
Darwin Garden is going strong, with arugula already going to seed and chives, sage and strawberries blooming.
The asparagus I planted last fall is coming up nicely. We'll leave it alone and let it get established this year.
The asparagus I planted last fall is coming up nicely. We’ll leave it alone and let it get established this year.

I’m utterly amazed by my goldfish. We got that early, intense cold snap in November, and the top of the pond froze solid before I had a chance to dip the fish out and bring them inside for the winter. The layer of ice was thick, and the severe cold spells were spaced just far enough apart that it never thawed. I remember reading something that said not to break up ice on a pond, as the vibrations harm the fish more than the cold weather, so I just left them alone and hoped for the best. Upon discovering they’d survived, I promptly named them Ted Williams and General Skaldak, in honor of two other guys who were famously frozen.

I’ll get the rest of the garden in the ground sometime this weekend.

Hope your Earth Day was good and you found something kind to do for the planet.

Emily

5 thoughts on “Earth Day”

  1. If you’re worried about your fish, try putting them in garbage cans in the garage or somewhere with a mild heat source. Goldfish (I’m assuming you mean they’re Koi?) can withstand a lot, even swimming in 1 C water for a while.

    1. These are plain old comets from the 6-for-a-dollar feeder tank at the pet store. I normally bring them in when it gets below about 20 degrees out, but this past fall went from a light frost one night to a two-inch-thick layer of ice on the pond the next, with no warning. The fish, apparently, gave no damns — just went to the deepest point and kept on truckin’. Koi are pretty, but they’re expensive, and I’ve always had good luck with cheap feeder goldfish, though these are hardy even by my standards.

      1. Cool, glad to know they’re working for you! Goldfish are really hardy so I’m not surprised you’re doing so well with them. I’ve seen pictures of them up to a foot-long too so they might as well be koi at that point, haha. Hopefully you have these guys for that long!

  2. I am absolutely in love with your raised garden. My parents and I recently created a little one of our own due to soil concerns. It is our very first attempt and we are all relatively new to gardening, so it has brought alone its share of trail and error. May I ask what exactly you used in the first picture? We used untreated wood which may only last seven years and I would definitely like to use something more sustainable, plus they just look so very cute!

    1. The raised beds are plain old 36″ fire rings from the feed store. They run about $40 apiece; I just bought one every payday during the winter so I wouldn’t have a huge outlay all at once in the spring.

Leave a Reply

