Convenient discovery

So we went to Buchheit this afternoon to pick up a new water dispenser for my quail. For those of you who don’t live around here: Buchheit is a small chain of feed stores with lumberyards built in. So basically the kind of place I probably shouldn’t go without adult supervision, lest I come home with, like, a couple of turkeys or a deer blind shaped like a tree stump* or some other such nonsense awesomeness.

On the way into the poultry area, Ron spotted something glorious that makes it even less likely that he will ever let me take a credit card into that building again: Buchheit now carries beekeeping equipment.

Y’all.

Y’ALL.

I BOUGHT A BEE BRUSH AT THE FEED STORE TODAY.

If you’re not a beekeeper, you’re probably thinking, “Well, hell — why wouldn’t she be able to buy a bee brush at the feed store?” But for reasons I’ve yet to ascertain, no feed store I’ve ever been in carried beekeeping equipment. Until today.

They don’t have everything we use, but they have frames, traditional wooden hive bodies, smokers, veils, cheap Tyvek suits, gloves, hive tools, interior and exterior feeders, and various other odds and ends — enough equipment for someone who’s been playing with the idea of setting up a hive to walk in and put together a nice starter kit without having to order anything online other than the bees themselves. Given our propensity for losing gloves and hive tools, the convenience of having them available locally really cannot be overstated. But the truly exciting part is what this means for the hobby: There must be a lot of beeks out there if the feed store execs think it’s worth their while to stock equipment. And if all the kids in the FFA and the 4-H Club have to walk past the beehives to get to the poultry supplies, some of them might decide to take up beekeeping next.

Whee!

Emily

*I need that deer blind. For retirement purposes. I know I said I was going to set up a hexayurt, or maybe a tipi, but a glorified Hobbit-house with thick insulation and a door that locks would be way cooler. Considering my goal for retirement is to spend more time traveling than I spend at home, I think it’s perfectly reasonable to use a deer blind as a crash pad between road trips.

Leave a Reply

