Dreaming Kerouac

alley

I love this alley downtown. Alleys always make me think of Jack Kerouac. I took this picture shortly after we moved, but I think I forgot to post it at the time, because I was busy trying to settle into the new house and sell the old one and learn ropes and tie up loose ends, and blogging got lost in the shuffle for a while.

Sometimes I forget how fast we moved. I was thinking about that tonight, when a girl from Tulsa tweeted to say hello and ask how the bees were doing. I used to exchange tweets with her often when I worked at the hotel,  but then I moved, and my schedule changed, and I didn’t see her on my timeline as much. I hadn’t talked to her in ages, and she didn’t realize we’d moved until I mentioned it this evening. It struck me that the whole moving process happened so quickly that if you blinked, you’d miss it. I emailed my resume to my editor one evening in March, and a month later, the movers were unloading the U-Haul 450 miles away. I think a few people commented on the suddenness at the time, but I was too busy coordinating the logistics to give it much thought. Looking back, I’m still not sure how we pulled it off, but I’m still glad we did.

Emily

Leave a Reply

