Vegan Friday: Pureed cauliflower

Looks like mashed potatoes. Tastes even better.
Looks like mashed potatoes. Tastes even better.

Several years ago — long before the South-Atkins-Paleo-Beach-Whatever diet caught on — I ordered dinner at a fancy restaurant in Santa Fe. I don’t remember what I ordered. I remember the side dish that came with it: a scoop of something soft, yellowish-white, smooth and very buttery, with a slightly sweet undertone that wasn’t quite like anything I’d ever had. I assumed it was mashed potatoes with something fancy added to it.

Nope.

What I had on my plate was a two-ingredient dish that tasted better and had a higher nutritional content than any mashed potatoes I’ve ever had.

Pureed cauliflower.

Pureed cauliflower is so easy, I’m not sure it’s even legitimate to call it a recipe, but it’s so cheap and tasty and nutritious that I’d be remiss if I didn’t share it.

Ingredients:
1 bag frozen cauliflower
1/4 c. margarine (we like Earth Balance, but the cheap stuff is fine, too)

Put the cauliflower and about a tablespoon of water in a covered dish and nuke until tender. I usually let it go about five minutes and then check it. If it’s not quite tender, add a minute and check it again. Repeat as needed.

Frozen cauliflower is cheap and cooks fast in the microwave.
Frozen cauliflower is cheap and cooks fast in the microwave.

Dump the cauliflower and the margarine into a food processor and puree into a smooth paste.

Serve plain or top with Daiya cheddar-style shreds, Tofutti sour “cream” and a handful of chives or scallions. Add a side of sauteed mushrooms and a big salad, and you’ve got a pretty good meal.

Emily

 

Leave a Reply

