Vegan Friday: Tahini salad

tahini2web
Tahini salad is one of my favorite things ever.

When I was in college, I ordered lunch from Sam’s Cafe on the Strip in Carbondale, Ill., about once a week. Sam’s had three advantages: They delivered, they took checks, and they had terrific vegetarian options. One of my favorite items on the menu was tahini salad. Before I graduated, I figured out how to make my own; it’s been one of my go-to dishes for parties and potlucks ever since. It’s also a great way to use up excess cucumbers and tomatoes from the garden as the summer progresses.

Tahini, as I’ve explained in earlier recipes, is a thick paste made from sesame seeds. Think peanut butter, but with a more assertive flavor. You can find it at the health-food store and most of your bigger grocery stores. Expect to pay $5 to $8 a jar. The recipe below serves one to two people, but it doubles or even triples easily if you’re feeding a crowd.

Tahini Salad

1/4 c. tahini
1/4 c. lemon juice
1/4 c. water
Paprika
Cucumber, diced
Tomato, diced
Black olives (optional)

Stir together tahini, lemon juice and water until smooth. Sprinkle with paprika to taste. Toss mixture with vegetables and serve.

One thought on “Vegan Friday: Tahini salad”

Leave a Reply

