Vegan Friday: Earth Day edition

My Earth Day efforts happened a few days early this year (see my last post), but before I go to bed, I’ll probably dig out my copy of the original edition of 50 Simple Things that I bought for Earth Day in 1990 and see where I am 24 years later.

In the meantime, I remember “Eat Low on the Food Chain” being the name of one chapter, and since I owe you a Vegan Friday recipe anyway, I’ll just let this killer vegan banana bread recipe stand in for an Earth Day project:

Vegan Banana Bread

3 or 4 overripe bananas
1 c. sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tbsp. vinegar
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/3 c. melted margarine
Handful of pecans

banana1

Preheat oven to 350. Mash together all ingredients except margarine and nuts. Add margarine and stir to make a thick batter. Stir in nuts. Pour batter into a greased Pyrex loaf pan and bake for an hour.

banana2

Cut into thick slices and serve warm with a pat of margarine.

Happy Earth Day, kids. And if you haven’t done anything nice for the environment today, you can start by taking the environmental footprint quiz. And making a batch of banana bread, of course.

Emily

Leave a Reply

