New adventure

I may be in a Red Fork State of Mind, but my failure to update this blog on anything resembling a regular basis for the past three weeks stems from the fact that I’m about to be in a Cape Girardeau State of Body.

Let me ‘splain. No, is too much. Let me sum up:

On March 14, I sent a resume and clips to the Southeast Missourian in Cape Girardeau, Mo. The paper had an opening for a cops reporter. Less than 24 hours later, I had an e-mail from the editor, asking when he could call and when I could get to Cape for an interview. I had a nice phone interview with him on March 18, booked it out to Missouri on the 21st, and interviewed March 22.

I got an e-mail on Monday, saying I had the job. I put in my notice Monday afternoon and left for a house-hunting mission on Tuesday night. I looked at three houses, put an offer on the second one I saw, and went out for a cappuccino.

I have spent the past two days packing like a madwoman. I took a break last night to go see Leon Russell in concert. He was amazing. I will take another break on Thursday to drive to Kansas to see Judy Collins, then drive back after the concert that night, sleep a few hours, and let the movers in at 1 p.m. Friday so we can head out with the U-Haul on Saturday. (We’re taking possession of the house a week and a half before the closing because I’m due in the newsroom bright and early Monday morning.) In between, I have to finish the Trip Guide and tie up some loose ends at work.

My editor is floored. He’s never seen anyone buy a house that fast.

I told him I worked well under deadline pressure. I wasn’t kidding.

Anyway, if I don’t blog for a couple of weeks, it’s because I’m coordinating the logistics of a 450-mile move and starting a new job. Watch this space; as soon as I get settled, I should have all manner of eye candy for you. Also, if you know anybody who wants to buy a three-bedroom house in Red Fork with solar panels on the roof and ridiculously cheap power bills, we’re asking $74,900. Safe neighborhood, fenced backyard, and the white trashy neighbors who liked to get stoned and shoot fireworks at the house have moved away, so it’s pretty quiet around here.

Emily

2 thoughts on “New adventure”

  1. I choked on my water as I read the part about the white trashy neighbors! I know exactly what you are talking about. -former neighbor to the south.

Leave a Reply

