Countdown

February 1, 2013

It’s a chilly, quiet evening in Red Fork. I’ve got the Mamas and the Papas on Spotify and visions of art projects dancing in my head. I feel a creative outburst lurking around the corner, but I think I can keep it at bay long enough to get some much-needed sleep tonight.

Phillies pitchers and catchers report to spring training in nine days.

Life is good.

Emily


Folk Thursday: Joan Baez, ca. 1973

February 1, 2013

I’ve had “Love Song to a Stranger” stuck in my head all day and wound up playing it during my guitar lesson. (Score another one for the hippie: Zaphod had never heard it before. I think I am slowly but surely turning him into a folkie….)

I really like this version. Very simple, very sad, and very pretty — and could Joan Baez be any more gorgeous here? She makes that line about “dark eyes that melted your soul” seem very convincing.

I wish she’d come to Oklahoma. I haven’t had a chance to see her in concert in almost 20 years, which is way too long.

Emily


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers