Amboy Crater

Sorry I didn’t get back here to post more pictures in a timely fashion. My new job is great, but it’s kept me busier than I anticipated. Anyway, here are the photos I promised from Amboy Crater, which is an extinct volcano that has become one of my favorite Route 66 destinations.

This is the view from the top of the volcano as you look down into the crater.

In the crater.

I hate heights, but I really wanted to see what was behind Amboy Crater, so I sucked it up and climbed the rather steep, uneven path up to the south side. Predictably, it was just another lava flow, but it was pretty.

While I was up there, I found this weird mini-crater. I think this is where a big bubble of lava burst.

On my way back down the path, I discovered this scorched plant. I love how the leaves are all completely intact but completely dry and almost ghostly white.

Here’s Ron inside the volcano.

I think this is my favorite picture of Ron from this trip.

I’m not sure why, but I’m kind of weirdly obsessed with the Mojave Desert. I like the solitude. I like the desolation. And I like the danger. The Mojave is beautiful, but it does not suffer fools gladly, and if you fail to show it the proper respect, it has no compunction about punishing your impertinence with death.

I do not fear the desert, but I respect its power, and I cherish its gifts. I know of nothing that can put things into their proper perspective quite like a hike into Amboy Crater. Glorious.

Next up: A visit to an absolutely striking ghost town just before sunset.

Emily

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 594 other followers

