Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Artcar

Sorry for the extended silence. Things have been nuts around here, what with tying up loose ends ahead of Christmas break and then tying up loose ends ahead of our trip to Illinois to visit family for Christmas. Throw in three migraines, two kempo lessons, and a partridge in a pear tree plethora of unnecessary last-minute hassles, and … well, something had to give.

Aaaaaaaanyway … in between wrapping presents, scheduling visits with old friends, sorting Trip Guide ads, putting together trays of goodies for office parties, making arrangements to have the chickens watered and the fish fed, cleaning the house, and venting my frustrations on a focus pad held by my longsuffering kempo professor, I managed to find a little time to do something for myself:

That’s right, kids: I finally finished the passenger’s side of my fabulous art car. Here’s a closer look:

Richard Bach fans will recognize both the feather and the quotation from the novel Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah. I’ve been leaning heavily on Bach’s wisdom this week, so it seemed appropriate to finish the Bach side of the car this afternoon.

While I was outside, I touched up the tie-dyed sunburst on the hood, as the Oklahoma sun has not been kind to the paint. I’d like to say it looks better, but spray paint does not like cold weather, and orange spray paint especially does not like cold weather. The red part looked fine, and then I added the orange, yellow, and green, at which point the orange began dripping and running like crazy. (I don’t remember having this problem the first time around, but maybe it was warmer that day, despite the fact that we had six inches of snow on the ground the day I started this project.)

In any case, the hood is brighter than it was this time three hours ago, which I suppose is an improvement. If I get sick of looking at the drips and runs, I can always sand it down and repaint it over spring break. The beauty of an art car is that once you’ve destroyed your mythical “trade-in value,” you are pretty much free to sand, strip, paint, glue, and otherwise deface/embellish/reinvent the surface of the vehicle as many times as you want with total impunity….

Emily

Leave a Reply

