Daybook for Dec. 8

For today…

Outside my window… a dark, cool evening.
I am thinking… Christmas break is coming just when I need it most.
From the classroom… a stack of papers I’m ignoring.
I am thankful for… Ron’s help this evening. Brushing a fidgety cat is much easier when you have someone to help keep him still.
From the kitchen… nothing. We went out to dinner this evening, and I’m absolutely stuffed.
I am wearing… khakis, Birkenstocks, and my favorite baja jacket.
I am reading… Shel Silverstein poetry. Out loud. Into a microphone. I think Jamie and Hazel and Ollie will enjoy listening to Aunt Emily read to them from 500 miles away.
I am hoping… inspiration strikes soon. I’m having trouble getting seventh hour to understand inequalities when they have to multiply and divide with negative numbers.
I am creating… a set of recordings for the rugrats.
I am praying… to know that divine Mind provides right ideas at the right moments.
Around the house… a very unhappy cat.
One of my favorite things… cappuccino.
A few plans for the rest of the week… grading, lesson planning, and making some cards to sell for a fundraiser.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…

We passed this cute little church while we were driving from downtown Tulsa to Catoosa this weekend. Ron turned around so I could take a picture of the neon cross. A lot of the tubing is broken, but I still wanted to add it to my ecclesiastical neon photos. I’ve spent the past 10 years or so photographing every neon church sign I could find. If I ever have time to sort, catalog, print, and frame all the photos, I’d like to do a traveling photo exhibit that churches could display as a sort of community outreach project. I think that would be a really fun project.

Emily

Leave a Reply

