Daybook for Nov. 30

For today…

Outside my window… the silence of Red Fork after midnight.
I am thinking… that I really like working out on the Wave bag at kempo.
From the classroom… prefix quizzes to cut apart for tomorrow.
I am thankful for… my woodstove.
From the kitchen… a bowl of Malt-O-Meal to warm me up.
I am wearing… gi bottoms and a T-shirt.
I am reading… The Physics of Baseball. If I ever have free time to pick it up again.
I am hoping… my classes behave well for the sub on Friday.
I am creating… algebra tests.
I am praying… to know that my kids are capable of making wise decisions, despite their tendency toward youthful impetuosity.
Around the house… a fidgety rat terrier and a busy cat.
One of my favorite things… the availability of Pop-Tarts in the vending machines at school.
A few plans for the rest of the week… lots of grading and lots of decaf cappuccino.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…

This is a Christmas ornament I made when I was about Jamie’s age. I was very proud of it. It’s supposed to be a star, but Mom just calls it the “whizzy thing.” I got the idea from a Romper Room bit in which the kids on the show cut out paper ornaments and colored them. I used Crayolas from a box of 64 and paper from an Academie sketch pad to make my own version. I don’t know why I remember that.

Emily

3 thoughts on “Daybook for Nov. 30”

  1. Long live the Whizzy! (I am ROFL-ing that I never knew it was inspired by Romper Room. Hehehe. I just thought maybe you’d inhaled some nutmeg from your eggnog when mom wasn’t looking. LOL)

Leave a Reply

