Daybook for Nov. 12

For today…

Outside my window… a cold, damp evening.
I am thinking… that an eighth-hour student’s decision to read the role of Creon in a hillbilly accent actually made Antigone more accessible and understandable for his classmates. That probably shouldn’t have surprised me, considering I once hooked a group of sophomores on mythology by retelling the myth of Cupid and Psyche in a North St. Louis accent. (Note to self: Insist on funny accents when we read Hamlet.)
From the classroom… a few algebra papers to grade and a few lesson plans to write.
I am thankful for… a few quiet moments to enjoy Cristofori’s Dream on a rainy afternoon while my kids worked on an assignment.
From the kitchen… Irish soda bread.
I am wearing… a school shirt, jeans, and Crocs.
I am reading… Ryne Sandberg’s autobiography. It’s woefully out of date and not terribly revealing, but the parts where he goes into detail about how he plays — e.g., the mechanics of his swing or the difference half an inch and a couple of ounces will make in the way a bat performs — are great. He really ought to do an instructional book for kids who are just learning the game.
I am hoping… our scholar bowl team does well at regionals tomorrow.
I am creating… lesson plans. Always lesson plans.
I am praying… to know that my kids are perfect expressions of divine intelligence, even if they do act goofy sometimes.
Around the house… the smell of freshly baked bread.
One of my favorite things… getting to work with a few minutes to spare on a cool, drizzly morning.
A few plans for the rest of the week… tournament, church, dog park, and maybe some watercolor painting if time allows.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…

Irish soda bread is such a lovely snack on a fall evening.

Emily

Leave a Reply

