Photos from the road

Things have been so crazy around here lately that I completely forgot to Photoshop and upload my pictures from our trip to Illinois over Memorial Day weekend. Above, our niece Rainey had a good time with Bobby McGee, a.k.a. the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcar.

Rainey’s handiwork included a monochromatic rainbow and unicorn, enhancements/modifications to pre-existing graffiti, the alphabet, part of my name, her name, the phrase “I love you,” and all the even numbers from zero to 30. (She has recently learned to count by twos.)

On our way back to Tulsa, we made a slight detour to Springfield, Ill., for a photo op with Bobby McGee at the Cozy Dog Drive-In. This was a bittersweet pilgrimage, as the Cozy Dog was founded by Bob Waldmire’s father. Despite his vegan status, Bob used to hang out at the Cozy Dog and actually created some of the artwork that appears on notepads, grill salt, and the restaurant’s signature corn dog batter mix.

Bob’s presence can be felt all over the building, from the mural/map on the front to the extensive collection of artwork inside. I thought it appropriate to take photograph Bobby McGee — with portrait of Bob and his VW facing the camera, of course — in front of the restaurant where Bob spent so many happy hours.

Scout, whose likeness also appears on the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcar, was a big fan of the Cozy Dog.

We took U.S. 54 back to Oklahoma, mainly because I wanted to photograph this pair of Muffler Men at Lake of the Ozarks.

This is the first “Happy Half-Wit” type I’ve had the opportunity to shoot. I think it’s a pretty impressive specimen.

This sweet little creature was guarding her nest, which was tucked into the rafters under the canopy at a drive-in restaurant in western Missouri. I think we were in Eldorado Springs, but I can’t remember the name of the restaurant.

May I just state, for the record, that this tiny town in Kansas is missing out on a golden marketing opportunity? If I lived there, I would spend my entire summer sitting in a roadside booth, selling souvenirs: “I passed Gas, and all I got was this lousy T-shirt!” (You know you want one.)

Emily

One thought on “Photos from the road”

Leave a Reply

