Finished!

I have finally finished the novel. Every section of it that needed major additions/deletions/reworking is complete. Sierra is on paper, and her father’s side of the story is on paper.

This evening, I expect to sleep more soundly than I’ve slept at any point since I was 15.

God bless all of you who were involved in any part of this process. Some of you know who you are. Some of you don’t. Whether you were aware of your involvement or not, I love you. Sierra loves you. Joey and Morgan and Miss Shirley and Grant and Harvey and Lil Miss and Skinny and Hank and Bill and Dr. Scherer and Nettie and Brother Jerry and Abuelito and the CSNY kittens and the entire population of the nonexistent town of Coldwater, N.M., love you.

We thank you from the bottom of our hearts — real or fictional.

Now … I have a favor to ask of you: Please don’t ask me when the book will be available. Writing it was the easy part. It is likely to be years before you find yourself standing in line at some indie bookstore to get my autograph on a copy of Greetings from Coldwater — if that ever happens at all. Once I’ve had a few days to rest on my laurels and recharge my batteries and reread the manuscript to make sure I’m comfortable enough with it to send it out into the world, I will begin exploring my options.

Right now, I believe my options are either decaf cappuccino from the Phoenix or a carton of Ben and Jerry’s from QuikTrip. Or maybe all of the above.

Emily

3 Responses to Finished!

  1. Wow, congratulations! I wish the best of luck in your other endeavors of 2013!

  2. Mike Whear says:

    I continue to wonder about Joey. Hope he is doing well…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers

