I left my heart in Tucumcari

swallowsnow1

I’ve waited 11 years for this shot. I got it this morning. The snow was probably gone by the time I got to Amarillo, but it was perfect while it lasted — wet, fluffy, and just deep enough to be photogenic without impeding travel.

Here are some of the visual highlights from my weekend trip to New Mexico:

tucumcarimotel

This is the Tucumcari Motel. It’s on old U.S. 54, a few blocks north of the Mother Road. It’s a pretty cool old building.

tucumcarimotel2

Here are the motel cabins. I’m a sucker for little adobe buildings….

swallowsnow2

swallowsnow3

swallowsnow4

More shots of the Swallow in the snow this morning. I can think of only once in my entire life when I have been more excited to have a camera in my hand. If every day started like this, I could get the hang of mornings.

mountain

Love the fog over Tucumcari Mountain.

revuelto2

revuelto1

graffitirocks

A few scenes along Route 66 between Tucumcari and San Jon.

sanjon2

sanjon1

I’ve always loved this old property on the outskirts of San Jon.

tumble3

tumble2 tumble1

You know I can’t resist any excuse to shoot the Western Motel in San Jon.

bentdoor

While I was getting this shot of the Bent Door in Adrian, a very good-looking firefighter saw my hazard lights on and pulled up to make sure I was OK. Cute Texas firefighter, if you’re reading this, thank you for watching over the travelers when they get to your stretch of 66. You’re one of the reasons Route 66 remains the greatest road trip in America.

I intend to ring in 2013 with a cup of Red Zinger, some ’60s folk on vinyl, and a few hours of work on the novel.

Hope your New Year’s Eve is good, wherever you are.

Emily

2 Responses to I left my heart in Tucumcari

  1. Karla says:

    Emily, those photos are beautiful, thanks for sharing them! Have a very happy new year!

  2. Seasonsgirl says:

    I can see why you had to get that shot after 11 years- very nice :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers

