Belated Tucumcari report

Yeah, yeah, I know, my trip was two weeks ago, and I’m just now getting around to posting pictures. I’ve been busy — work, belt test, deadlines, more deadlines, hive inspection, meetings, personal training, volunteer work, writing, etc., etc., etc.

Anyway, here are the visuals, minus the ones I took with my cell phone and posted to Instagram. If you want to see those, you’ll have to click here to see my account. But here are my Rebel shots, such as they are:

I did something I’ve never done before: I spent a night at the San Jon Motel. I wouldn’t recommend it to everybody, but if you’re a Route 66 enthusiast, you probably ought to do it at least once. San Jon is a strange place at night.

Like I could resist this shot. You know I will never get done photographing this sign. Not if I live to be a thousand.

I was delighted to see the buildings across the street looking prosperous, with all sorts of little businesses in them.

Here’s one of the businesses across from the Swallow. I like the lights in the windows. Also: I shot this at an eighth of a second. Without a tripod. Don’t act like you’re not impressed.

As usual, I had a hard time thinking of a good reason to come home. I swear, if it weren’t for Ron and my animals, I would just vanish into the high desert one night and never return. I’d just disappear, living off the land, wandering back to Illinois to visit family now and then, and surfacing along 66 at random times, painting murals and selling photographs and just generally living like Bob Waldmire.

I keep trying to convince Ron that this is a viable retirement plan. So far, he’s not having any of it, but he said no the first 3,784 times I told him we needed a cat, too, so you never know….

Emily

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

