Friday night snack

January 20, 2012

My little sister put me onto this recipe a few months ago, but I didn’t get around to trying it right away ‘cos I was out of chocolate chips. I picked up a bag this evening on my way home from a lesson-planning marathon with my student teacher and fixed a vaguely nutritious snack: chocolate chip cookie dough hummus.

I know what you’re thinking, but please keep in mind that garbanzo beans have absolutely no flavor of their own, which is why regular hummus isn’t any good unless you put a LOT of tahini and lemon juice in it.

Because I’m a beekeeper, my version had honey in it, of course. It went vaguely like this:

Put a can of garbanzo beans (a.k.a. chickpeas), 1/4 tsp. salt, a pinch of baking soda, a healthy splash of vanilla extract, 1/3 c. peanut butter, 1 tbsp. milk, 1/4 c. honey, 1 tbsp. molasses, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. oats, and 2 tbsp. butter in your food processor and process until smooth. Stir in a handful of chocolate chips and serve with graham crackers.

All the amounts are approximate, so feel free to riff on the recipe to suit your tastes.┬áIt doesn’t taste exactly like chocolate chip cookie dough, but it’s close enough, and it contains a lot of protein, which means it’s probably better for you than porking down half a tube of prefabbed cookie dough for lunch. (Not that I know anybody who’s ever done anything like that, of course.)

That’s about all I have to report this evening. Well, that and the fact that I’m way amped about the lesson we’re doing with the kids in English on Monday. All I’m going to say is that Jamie and Hazel and Ollie would probably approve of it. Photos and/or video forthcoming.

Hope your week was good.

Emily


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers