Saying goodbye

“Don’t be dismayed at goodbyes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends.”
— Richard Bach

A few hours ago, I got word that a former student had been killed in a car accident.

My heart is breaking — for myself, for his family, and for my students, who are much too young to be dealing with so much sadness. I wish I could spread my arms wide enough to pull all of my kids into a giant mama-bear hug, hold them tight, and keep them safe forever and ever. But I can’t. All I can do is love them, listen to them, and support them with all my heart.

When I lose someone I love, I draw comfort from thinking about the spiritual qualities I saw in that person, then searching for those qualities in others. Tonight, I am thinking of Mitchell’s quick wit, mischievous smile, and deep sense of justice, and I am working to know that the intelligence, humor, and integrity he expressed can neither die nor disappear. Those qualities are eternal, and wherever we find them, we will find him.

I am blessed to have known Mitchell.

I am blessed to know all of my kids. I love you guys, and I always will.

– Ms. P.

3 Responses to Saying goodbye

  1. MiKayla says:

    Ms.Priddy,
    Thank You For Your Support Though This Lost Of a Loved One. I Love You& Jus Thanks For Being There Today!

    Love,
    MiKayla Massey<3

  2. You’re welcome, MiKayla. I wouldn’t have missed it for anything. I love you guys.

  3. LISA says:

    couldnt find a reply on Orion – thanks for making this day the best by letting me remember all the lyrics and hear the performance. This osng has always been a touchstone for me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 670 other followers

