Bob’s bus

As promised, here are more photos from the interior of Bob Waldmire’s school-bus-turned-zero-energy-home. I’ve always been fascinated with small, environmentally friendly dwellings, but Bob took the concept to a whole new level. Pictures don’t begin to do his home justice, but at least you can get a rough idea of how efficiently he used a limited amount of space to create a residence with all the creature comforts anyone could want:

This is Bob's office. It is approximately two feet wide. I own a pretty cool old manual typewriter, but his typewriter kicks my typewriter's arse.

Protip: When decorating a small space, consider displaying an assortment of Micro Machines on a shelf at eye level.

Built-in bookshelves and careful attention to detail allow for the accumulation of a small library of materials related to subjects of interest.

I like the handmade ornament.

Marty Blitzstein of the Illinois Route 66 Association spends a lot of time on Bob's bus, educating visitors about his old friend's life and work.

A loft built onto the top of the bus allows for extra storage and the display of a few additional decorations.

You read that right. Bob built himself a sauna. Why? Because he could. Bob spent 30 years doing exactly as he pleased, and he was good at it. I'd be lying if I said he wasn't a major influence on my own tendency to indulge my inner child's every whim.

I love this adorable little stove. It's even smaller than the one Ron and I had at our old house in Illinois. Tiny appliances delight me for reasons I cannot begin to comprehend.

I love the window above the kitchen sink.

My mom used to have a set of tiny Tupperware containers like these. She used to fill them with gorp and pack them into my lunchbox when I was in first grade. Must be a hippie thing.

You have no idea how much this blue whale delighted me.

Everything about this kitchen is just totally Bob.

Especially this.

I think this was actually on Bob's van, not his bus, but he had copies all over the bus, too. Also, he gave me a couple of those IMPEACH BUSH bumper stickers a few years ago. I still have one on the bulletin board in my office.

Bob had dozens of copies of that little Peace Pilgrim pamphlet scattered around the bus and the van. I’m assuming he liked to hand them out to people. You can read the pamphlet online. I have, of course, added it to my summer reading list.

Bob’s bus and van are both on display at the Illinois Route 66 Association Hall of Fame Museum in Pontiac, Ill. If you haven’t been there yet, I highly recommend going. It’s a great little museum, and the bus alone is worth the trip.

Emily

One Response to Bob’s bus

  1. [...] also posted a blog about Waldmire’s bus. The Daily Leader also published a story about the Waldmire family dedicating the bus to the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 687 other followers

