A matter of perception

Conversation today in class:

KID: Ms. Priddy, I don’t mean to be mean, but you’ve got gray hair!
ME: I know, Sweetie. I’ve had it for a while. I just flipped my part to the other side to show it off a little better.
KID: Really? Why?
ME: I like my gray.
KID: (Incredulous) You do?
ME: (Laughing) Yes! I’ve wanted white hair since I was your age.

Sometimes I forget how odd I truly am. My kids can’t figure me out … which is fine with me. It’s good to keep them guessing. My math students are convinced I’m totally subversive because I teach half my lessons at the center table, with toys spread out all over and a dry-erase marker in my hand to write notes on the top of the table when I need to clarify something. I have no idea why it delights them so much to see me scrawl notes across the formica. Maybe I should give all the kids dry-erase markers so they can write on their desks.

As I think about it, that may be the best idea I’ve had in a while. My English students could close out every lesson by writing a one-sentence summary of the lesson on top of their desks. I can just imagine the looks on the consultants’ faces if we took their much-vaunted “exit ticket” idea and kicked it up a notch.

Too bad dry-erase markers are so bloody expensive….

Emily

4 Responses to A matter of perception

  1. Amy says:

    Maybe you could do the same thing with a Twitter feed. Or is it just that they like the vandalism aspect of writing on desks?

  2. I wanted to have them Tweet or Facebook the lesson, but both sites are firewalled, and cell phones are forbidden. Defacing school property is more fun anyway.

  3. Linda says:

    Do you want dry erase markers for your birthday this year?

  4. Mom: I always want dry-erase markers. :)

    Amy: I rustled up some markers today and had them write their “exit tickets” — in this case, a definition of the term “conflict” and an example of one of the basic conflicts (man vs. man, man vs. nature, etc.) — on their desks for the next class to see. It was really funny to see the reactions. I had everything from utter joy to complete bewilderment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

