Farewell to an old friend

One afternoon my sophomore year of high school, I grew bored with the treacle my peers were requesting on the radio. While rummaging through a hall closet, I found a milk crate full of vinyl, and in that crate, I found an album in a plain paper sleeve, with the words “PETER, PAUL AND MARY” printed across the top in my mom’s neat manuscript.

I spent the next couple of years seizing every available excuse to cut class and sneak over to Carbondale to scour the Record Exchange’s bargain bins for folk albums, which I could usually purchase for 25 to 50 cents apiece. That continued to be a favorite pastime in college; if I close my eyes and think about it for a minute, I can still smell the air in that store, a heady mix of patchouli and dust and yellowing paper, disintegrating cardboard and cigarette smoke and sometimes a hint of something earthier.

I’d always hoped Peter, Paul and Mary would show up to play a concert somewhere within driving distance, but it never happened. Even as I was liberating that first album from Mom’s collection almost 20 years ago, the band was starting to wind down, concert dates getting fewer and farther between. As usual, I was a couple of decades late and a dollar short.

Twenty years ago, Peter, Paul and Mary made me dream of changing the world. Tonight, I’m still trying.

Farewell, Mary. Thank you for sharing your voice with us, and thank you for inspiring a latter-day hippie whose social conscience expanded along with her record collection. Your legacy reaches farther than you’ll ever realize.

Emily

5 Responses to Farewell to an old friend

  1. Jeff Shaw says:

    Thanks for the new word. Treacle. I like that one.

    This land could do for more folk music like those above.

  2. Gracie says:

    Hey, speaking of scents to bring back nostalgic memories, remember the way that hall closet smelled at Mom and Dad’s old house? I can close my eyes and remember exactly how that little cubbyhole smelled, and it was far more pleasant than the smell of Tall Paul and the Record Exchange!!

  3. The whole house smelled like that when we moved in. The closet was the only part we hadn’t remodeled, so it retained the smell of the house.

  4. Mom says:

    That smell was a combination of dust, aging wood and vintage wallpaper, mixed with faint traces of coal smoke. My grandma’s house smelled the same way.

    • I saw wallpaper that looked like some in our old house and caught a whiff of that same scent somewhere in the past two years, but I can’t remember precisely where I was. It seems like maybe Aaron Meek was with me, so I’m guessing it was in one of his buildings. The circumstances escape me, but the scent and visual memories linger….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

