Wild shoes

I felt a creative outburst coming on this evening, so I bought a pair of Chuck Taylor knockoffs and painted them to match the mural on my office wall:

rumpus1

rumpus2

rumpus3

They’re not perfect, but they turned out OK, and it will be fun to wear them and see how many Maurice Sendak fans notice them.

Emily

7 Responses to Wild shoes

  1. M. T. Nester says:

    I thought of you this weekend when we went to Barnes and Noble. They have little Max dolls. He would be a nice mascot for your office.

  2. Brigid says:

    I am in awe of your painting skills. I can’t draw for anything. I think when I have kids, I want a monster theme ala the Wild Things.

  3. Mom: I am still kicking myself for passing up my one chance to buy a stuffed Wild Thing at a bookstore a few years ago. For one brief, golden, shining moment, they were making stuffed animals of my favorite Wild Thing (the one I painted on my shoe, with the head like a bull and the feet like a human), and I really considered buying it, but it was $35 or something, and I was pretty much living off my credit cards at the time, so I decided to save the money. I’m not sure why I picked that moment to exercise an oh-so-rare modicum of fiscal responsibility — especially when I am sure that I blew more than that on dinner out as soon as the feeling passed — but there it is. *Sigh*

    Brigid: Have you seen the luggage on Craftster that the girl lined with monster fur a couple of years ago? Way cute.

    P.S.: When you have kids, I will come right over and paint monsters all over the nursery. :)

  4. these are the coolest shoes ever.

  5. Sara says:

    I think you should wear these to school with the BBQ tee. Yessirree-bob.

    And I am so going to sheep these and make pair for my self. : )

  6. Trevor Hilton says:

    “Wild thing, you make my heart sing.”

  7. Did you see this?

    Since the movie’s supposed to be out soon, they’ll probably have a lot of collateral stuff.

    jma

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

