Ay, there’s the rub

“To sleep: perchance, to dream: ay, there’s the rub….”
– William Shakespeare

I’d had an idea I might take a nap this afternoon, but I wanted to finish the MySpace part of my Hamlet unit before I crashed (the kids are going to create a MySpace page for Hamlet, but the site is firewalled at school, so I just created a form they can use to do a mock-up of their page). It took me a couple of hours of surfing MySpace pages and playing with inDesign to get it the way I wanted it, but I finally wrapped it up, sorted out the deadlines for the kids’ other projects, and headed off to bed.

I curled up with Scout and a down comforter to keep me warm, fell asleep, and promptly dreamed I was putting together the rest of the Hamlet unit.

After 45 minutes of dreaming about the work I needed to do, I decided there was no point in wasting my whole afternoon exhausting myself with so much mental labor if I wasn’t going to have anything to show for it, so I got up and came back in here to work some more.

Every time I think I’m just about finished with this project, another idea flings itself across my path. I’m not complaining — I think this may be the best thing I’ve put together since that Harlem Renaissance unit I designed when I was student teaching — but we’re going to Cain’s Ballroom tonight for the Willie Nelson concert, and we’ve got general admission tickets, meaning we’ll be standing up for the whole show. A nap would have been nice.

Ah, well. Maybe with the bulk of this project behind me, I’ll be able to dodge the slings and arrows of outrageous insomnia long enough to get a good night’s sleep after the concert.

Emily

One Response to Ay, there’s the rub

  1. Laurel says:

    As much as I adore Willie, I’ve done the standing up thing at Cain’s for a previous Willie concert, and it was NOT pleasant. We were near the back, and I think I may have seen a quick flash of his face once, but I’m not sure. :-) I’ve been to a lot of other Willie concerts elsewhere and found them much more pleasant. Be sure to get there early enough to get as near as possible to the front.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

