Jogging

half2

Here I am this afternoon, crossing the finish line in the Route 66 Half-Marathon. My time was fairly abysmal, but considering the fact that A.) I’d run a grand total of 19.2 miles since last November, B.) I’d been fighting a backache for two days, and C.) I woke up this morning with some kind of stomach flu and seriously considered skipping the race altogether, I’ll just be content with the finisher’s medal and not worry too much about the clock. Maybe one of these days I’ll have time to whip myself back into sub-2:30 shape.

half1

The announcer didn’t call my name when I finished. He just referred to me as “the jeans lady” because I ran in jeans and a sweatshirt. I don’t know why you’re not supposed to run in jeans. They’re comfortable on a cold day, and they have lots of pockets for carrying gels and stuff. 

Hope your weekend was good. 

Emily

6 Responses to Jogging

  1. Laurel says:

    Congratulations, Emily! I looked for you on the course, but never found you in the sea of humanity. You’re lookin’ good with that medal around your neck. Although I crossed the finish line, I didn’t get a medal. Apparently, you’re supposed to cross on your feet and not in a car. Well, harrumph! :-)

  2. Geoff says:

    Hey Em. Sorry to not write about jogging. I’m trying to help get inauguration tickets for a group of j-school kids at SIU. I have contacted all of my politicians, but a news article I read somewhere suggested trying to contact Republican politicians and, in particular — get this — Oklahoma politicians! I figured I’d try, because any effort is a good effort at this point. Could you help us?

  3. BobInTulsa says:

    I’m guessing the announcer was savvy enough to know you’d be mobbed by your blog fans if he pointed you out. Courteous guy, I’d say.

  4. fannie says:

    I love that you ran a half-marathon in jeans!

    (I came to your blog via Seda’s blog)

  5. I always run in jeans, and always with my hair down. I might wear jogging pants for a full marathon, but I don’t bother for shorter runs. Jeans have become kind of a tradition. That and signing up for the full and then dropping back to the half because I don’t have time to train….

  6. [...] Pictures of people crossing the finish line of races IN JEANS is awesome. Our first photo of someone doing it was Cullin. Now we have Emily, author of the blog Red Fork State of Mind, at the Route 66 Half-Marathon crossing the finish line. She writes: [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

