Getting ‘er done

I caught myself slipping into a bit of a funk the past couple of days. I think the erratic sleep patterns, extended travel, and emotional roller coaster of the last three months finally caught up to me, and I could feel myself starting to crash, mentally and physically.

After indulging in one too many naps, I decided it was time to snap out of it, so I sat down Thursday and accomplished something. Several somethings, in fact. Between 7 a.m. and 1 a.m., I:

1. Finished up item #65 on my 101 Things list.
2. Wrote course descriptions for eight classes I want to include in the journalism curriculum at Webster High School. Ten years ago, I abandoned my career in education after a nightmarish challenging year babysitting gang members teaching English at a hellhole high school in St. Louis County. Three months ago, my journalism career abandoned me. In mid-April, the Webster principal presented me with an intriguing opportunity to revive both careers at once by joining the Webster faculty as journalism strand coordinator for their new magnet program. We start writing curriculum in a couple of weeks. I’m so excited I can hardly sit still.
3. Designed a planner/calendar/Control Journal that will hopefully help me stay focused and organized as I start my new job.
4. Ate dinner at my Emergency Backup Haunt: Al’s Route 66 Cafe in Sapulpa. It’s not the Rock, but it’s certainly an acceptable replacement while I wait for Dawn to rebuild … and it has the dual advantage of being much closer to home and much less fattening. (My favorite thing at Al’s is the tuna-salad-stuffed tomato with a side of cottage cheese. My favorite thing at the Rock is the chicken-fried steak with a side of deep-fried pickles….)
5. Cleaned the bathroom.
6. Cleaned the kitchen.
7. Cleaned the living room.
8. Sorted and organized the magazines that were cluttering up the shelf under the coffee table.
9. Started a load of laundry.

Not bad for a girl who was so tired she had to take three naps and then go to bed at 9 p.m. yesterday. :)

Emily

3 Responses to Getting ‘er done

  1. Brigid says:

    You are one productive lady, Emily. I start every day with high expectations and lofty goals only to fall asleep at 10:30 realizing all I did was go to work and eat candy on my couch all evening. I did do laundry last night, though. :P

  2. Well, y’know, it probably helped that item #65 involved doughnuts. ;)

  3. Brigid says:

    Maybe more of my daily goals should involve watching stupid TV and eating junk food. I’d be feeling much more accomplished!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

