Back

I’m back in Red Fork after 15 days on the road. There were a couple of people and places I didn’t get to visit while I was in Illinois (sorry, Kris … by the time I got a hand free, the tornado sirens were going off, but I promise I’ll call before you make your mad dash across the Mason-Dixon line), and I got a bit or two of news I could have done without, but overall, it was a good trip, and I’ll have lots of photos and stories to share once I’ve caught my breath and decompressed a bit.

In the meantime, I will just note that the break-in period on a Honda Fit is apparently 9,000 miles, because once I hit that, I started averaging 40+ mpg; my record for the trip (and my personal mileage record for non-hybrid vehicles) was over 42.5 mpg. I topped 42 while driving through the Ozarks — on a tank of that wretched ethanol blend they sell in Illinois, no less. I have no idea how that happened. I wasn’t even driving for mileage. I think my car finally figured out I wasn’t joking about that threat to swap it for a ’65 Ghia if it didn’t straighten up….

I get to cross a couple of items off my 101 Things list, too: #68 and #70. I almost did #99, but then I got sidetracked and forgot about it. Maybe next year….

Emily

3 Responses to Back

  1. mtnester says:

    Our best mileage on the trip to see you last month was also through the Ozarks and into a stiff wind, no less. Go figure. I started getting better mileage when I stopped trying to drive slowly and just went with the traffic flow. I also did less “bird” watching that way. . . I don’t floor it on take-off, and I try to always accelerate gently, but higher speeds tend to give me the best mileage in our Civic.

  2. Kate says:

    Yea for # 70!!!! It was WONDERFUL….I loved every moment of our visit! hugs, K

  3. Me too! Funny you should post just now … I’m Photoshopping pictures from Ted Drewes’. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 692 other followers

