10 miles

The devotion of thought to an honest achievement makes the achievement impossible.–Mary Baker Eddy

That’s more like it. My last couple of runs have been seriously uninspiring, but this one was much better: 10 miles on the treadmill at the gym, with a back issue of the Christian Science Journal (one of those magazines I keep saying I need to catch up reading) covering the display. Despite a few technical glitches with the treadmill (I accidentally reset it a couple of times during the run), I was able to get my run in and felt really good about it. My legs threatened to cramp up as soon as I stopped, but I dismissed that claim with the Scientific Statement of Being (“There is no life, truth, intelligence, nor substance in matter. …”) and Mrs. Eddy’s assertion that “muscles are not self-acting,” and that icky impending-charley-horse-from-hell feeling went away by the time I got home.

I’m now relaxing on the couch with a wine glass full of Gatorade (yes, as a matter of fact, I do think it’s perfectly acceptable for a teetotaler to use stemware) and my new laptop (review forthcoming after I’ve had time to play with it more) and contemplating the merits of frozen pizza versus yet another omelet for dinner. Life is good….

Emily

Box score:
Miles today: 10
Total miles: 48.8

One Response to 10 miles

  1. kate says:

    Ohhh, I never thought to have gatorade in a wine glass! That sounds very exciting and much better than wine after a run!

    I can’t run on the treadmills at my gym for more than 5 miles or so. I have to stop and reset them before the time hits an hour, otherwise it’ll stop short and I’ll slam into it… funny thought! LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

