New kitchen tool

We had 15 eggs in the refrigerator, so I got them out tonight and made a batch of these crustless quiche thingies that Ron likes. They’re very easy. You just mix a bunch of eggs with a little bit of water and stir it up like you would for an omelet, but instead of frying it, you put omelet fillings into muffin tins and then pour the eggs over them and bake at 375 for about a half-hour.

Unfortunately, eggs have a way of sticking to muffin tins, so cleanup is kind of a pain … or was until tonight, anyway.

A few weeks ago, Ron bought me a new silicone muffin pan. It had space for only six muffins, but we figured if it worked well, we’d get another one. They’re expensive enough (the model we have is about $10 at Bed Bath and Beyond) that Ron didn’t want to spring for a big one until we were sure I’d really use it.

I’ll use it. This batch turned out really well, and I had no difficulty getting the eggs to turn loose from the pan. Cleanup should be a snap (I’ll actually be able to use the dishwasher this time!)

It took nine eggs to fill six muffin cups. I boiled the other six to eat as quick snacks/lunches/whatever over the next few days.

I went to dinner at the Rock Cafe on Route 66 this evening. While the staff scrubbed down every inch of the restaurant — including all of the memorabilia hanging on the walls — in anticipation of an upcoming appearance on some Food Network show, the owner’s 4-year-old son bounced around the dining room in an Incredibles costume (complete with fake muscles and a cape), for reasons I will not even pretend to understand. I asked him what his superpower was. After some coaching from his sister, he informed me that he had “supersonic speed.”

It was pretty funny to watch his uninhibited little self jumping around in that costume, pretending to be a superhero. I wish I’d remembered to bring my camera….

Emily

3 Responses to New kitchen tool

  1. Helen Baker says:

    My daughter and I just had a discussion about the new silicone baking pans. re: do they work, are they worth the cost, etc. It’s nice to have a first hand success story. I guess I’ll be heading over to BB&B with my 20% off coupon from today’s paper.

    BTW, I’ve been using silicon spatulas for years and swear by them too.

  2. jolynna says:

    I have some silicone bakeware I have yet to use. I like the idea, but don’t want to ruin my effort and getting everything together by using the wrong cookware. I guess I am afraid things won’t brown right.

    Let us know how your crustless quiches turn out. I bet the silicone will be easy to clean.

  3. jolynna says:

    Oh, I just read Helen Baker’s comment.

    Thanks for your input. Maybe I need to give my silicone a try. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

