Grateful monkey

I have no idea why I decided I needed a sock monkey with the head of a Grateful Dead Dancing Bear on it. I think we have established by this point that reason is seldom, if ever, a consideration in my creative outbursts. In any case, meet Owley:

gratefulmonkey2.jpg

Here’s a lightened-up closeup of his face so you can see the ears:

gratefulmonkey1.jpg

Getting that felt part to come out right was hard, but Owley turned out better than any of the monkeys I’ve made up to this point.

And here’s a closeup of the little monkey in his arms, which I made on my lunch hour yesterday, using a couple of fuzzy baby socks:

littlemonkey.jpg

I was thinking it would be cool to attach monofilament to Owley’s arms and legs and turn him into a marionette so he could be a real Dancin’ Bear. :)

Emily,
who obviously has way too much time on her hands lately …

2 Responses to Grateful monkey

  1. you should go into business with these man, they’re adorable.

  2. Love your sock monkeys!!! Owley, CUTE! The little monkey from the baby socks is too cute for words! I just received a sock monkey in the mail (swap package) made from that exact pair of socks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers

