Altoid tin storytelling

I’ve spent the past couple of evenings working on my friend Laurel’s birthday present. My goal was to design a tiny accordion-fold scrapbook/collage thing that would tell the story of our friendship in a format small enough to fit in an Altoids tin.

I think it turned out pretty cute. Here are a few pictures:

Cover

This is the cover. Laurel is co-owner of Afton Station, a DX-station-turned-visitors’-center on Route 66 in downtown Afton. The cover doesn’t look as nice as I’d hoped, but I might play around with it later and see if I can improve it a bit.

Inside

This is the inside. The little pop-up pictures on the left are of a diagram from Laurel’s Web site (when she was little, she used to draw floorplans for imaginary motels) and Tulsa Tripper, one of the penguins auctioned off to raise money for the zoo a few years ago. Laurel owns Tripper. Laurel collects postcards, so on the right, I used some cool travel-postcard-style stickers to spell her name across a photo of Route 66. I added the mounting corners to make it look like something out of an old photo album.

laurel3.jpg

This is part of the scrapbook. The little Route 66 shield sort of pops up. I used little squares of double-sided foam tape to get the pop-up effect. Laurel likes to read the backs of old postcards, so I included a scan of the back of the Devil’s Elbow postcard, which is from 1942.

laurel4.jpg

More from the scrapbook. The Rest Haven sign (top image) is across the street from Afton Station. The next image is a vintage picture of Afton Station that I swiped off Laurel’s Web site. The interior shot of Afton Station is also from Laurel’s Web site, with the message about “letting the world roll on” lifted from a magazine. The last picture is of Laurel and our friend Guy goofing around with Tripper at Afton Station.

I made the scrapbook double-sided. The back side is just a bunch of references to inside jokes and strange interests we share, like Archie McPhee products (I have a pop-up Nunzilla picture on there) and sushi, among other things. I cut a long strip from an Oklahoma map, scored it, and stuck the tiny picture pages onto it to make the accordion-fold effect. I used clear plastic packing tape to laminate some of the images.
It wasn’t really a difficult project, but it was kind of time-consuming, mostly because I’d never made anything quite like this before and was sort of developing the design through trial and error. It will probably go a lot faster next time.

Emily

P.S.: Today was absolutely beautiful. I went out a couple of times at work — once to make a phone call, and once to get a snack from the convenience store behind our office — and I didn’t need my coat either time. The blossom on my forced hyacinth is starting to open. I’m pretty excited about it. I need to plant some flower bulbs this week. Maybe I can do that before church Wednesday night.

2 Responses to Altoid tin storytelling

  1. ~Kathryn~ says:

    this is gorgeous emily
    she will love it
    who makes those postcard stickers ? i think i must need some of those !!!

  2. Thanks. The sticker package says “Stickabilities by the Paper Studio.” The fine print at the bottom says the company’s Web site is http://www.craftsetc.com, and they are apparently based in OKC.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

