Almost playtime!

mural1.jpg

This is the outline for the mural my little friends Jaiden and Corbin are going to help me paint tomorrow morning. It’s based on the cover of the book Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. I outlined each area in the color it’s supposed to be so the kids can figure out where to paint. I used that method on the murals we did with the local kids in Depew a couple of summers ago, and it worked very well.

Jaiden and Corbin and I are having a whole “Wild Things” party tomorrow. We are going to fill in the mural, make wild cookies (chocolate chip, with two kinds of frosting, mini-M&Ms, mini-chocolate chips, and six different kinds of sprinkles to put on top), play with wild-colored playdough, and create our own wild things out of animal-print pompoms and googly eyes. We will probably play fetch with Scout and Song and Jason (who are wild things in their own right), and I anticipate a lot of dancing around and acting silly and making messes.

I think Ron is going to be in charge of rustling up some wild Happy Meals for us for lunch.

If everything goes according to plan, I should have hilarious pictures to post by this time tomorrow.

Emily

3 Responses to Almost playtime!

  1. M.T. Nester says:

    Is this at your house or theirs? How old are the kids?

  2. We’re painting my office wall. I think Jaiden is 4 and Corbin is 6. Terriann (their mom) thinks I’m absolutely nuts to turn them loose in my house with paintbrushes, but I figure dropcloths on the floor will keep the carpets safe, and just about everything else in the house needs a paint job anyway. We don’t have walls around here. We have blank canvases. :)

  3. kamboman says:

    If you love Maurice Sendak’s ‘Where the Wild Things Are’ you might be interested in visiting http://www.cafgivinggarden.org – the site showcases the ‘Where the Wild Things Are’ inspired garden being designed by Tiggy Salt for this year’s Chelsea Flower Show.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 682 other followers

