Stuff I have learned

I was thinking about all the stuff I have learned in the past year. This is by no means a comprehensive list, but I think it hits the highlights pretty well:

1. A fiery temper should be considered a manifestation of error, not a personality trait.
2. Nobody is really an idiot, although a good stunt double can make it look that way sometimes.
3. It is entirely possible for conservatives and hippies to get along, even without the assistance of beer.
4. Chivalry is not dead.
5. Every girl should know how to defend herself against an attacker, change a tire, and perform basic home repairs. It should not, however, be considered antifeminist to allow a man to do any of the above for you if it seems appropriate.
6. Richard Bach was right: “There is no such thing as a problem without a gift for you in its hands.”
7. And the real gift is understanding that there is really no such thing as a problem. Period.
8. Bruce Lee was right: Sometimes your opponents are your best teachers.
9. Mortal mind is a terrorist. Don’t negotiate with it.
10. When you believe you’ve been wronged, take the Hitchhiker’s Guide’s advice: DON’T PANIC.
11. In a pinch, it is perfectly reasonable to expect God to supply you with quarters for the parking meter.
12. In heavy traffic, it’s funny to flash a peace sign at the guy who just flipped you a bird.
13. Life is prettier when you pay attention to sunsets.
14. Wintergreen Lifesavers really do make sparks in the dark.
15. One well-placed ladybug can restore your faith in humanity.
16. Feeling competent is not a prerequisite for successful healing work.
17. Helping somebody else will soothe a migraine faster than Excedrin.
18. The Beatles had it right: All you need is Love.

What have you learned this year?

Emily

3 Responses to Stuff I have learned

  1. Stan Potoski says:

    Emily
    I don’t know how old you are, but you are wise beyond your years. You touch people beyond your imagination. Thank you for all you do.

    Ron, you might be a saint as well as a very lucky guy!

    (From an old hippie turned conservative)

  2. bettehall says:

    I have thought this very same thing many times.

    I only know your age because of running results and I have always wondered about why a woman so young would have tastes and interests of a woman at least twenty years older.

    I know from personal experience–your interests go hand-in-hand with mine–gardening, photography, running, route 66 signs and other memorabilia, faith, friends, travel–and…I am older.

    As Stan just said, “You are wise beyond your years.”

    By the way, I enjoy your entire website, not just the running part.

  3. Thanks. Bette, I don’t know if this explains anything, but my mom burned up an Osterizer making organic baby food for me when I was little, and I grew up reading The Mother Earth News over Mom and Dad’s shoulders….

    When I was in high school, a couple of my English teachers pulled my mom aside and said, “You know she’s going to go off to college and marry some 50-year-old Shakespeare professor.” I probably would have, too, if I could have found one who was single and male. *LOL*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

