Cool site, cold weather

It’s been unseasonably warm the last few days, but that came to a screeching halt this afternoon, when the sky opened up and dumped buckets of rain on us, and the temperature dropped by about 40 degrees. It’s supposed to get slick and yucky out tonight.

I saw a great big ladybug on my car yesterday. It was almost as big as my pinky nail and had lots of spots. I hope it found somewhere warm to hide today.

Mom just put me onto an awesome Web site: FreeCycle. It’s basically a clearinghouse for people to get rid of stuff they don’t want and pick up stuff they need. The idea is to get people to recycle stuff by giving it away instead of tossing it out.

So far, I’ve found people who need a stick blender, a coffeemaker, and a bookshelf — all of which I have and am not using. I also found someone who has a declawed, neutered Siamese cat to give away, but Ron is probably going to be mean and tell me I can’t have it like he always does when I ask for a cat. :(

I took off work this afternoon so I could run errands before the weather gets bad. I’ve spent the past couple of hours trying to clean my office. I bought materials to build myself a new desk (really just a shelf at desk level, tucked into a little niche in my office) and have been trying to pick up some of my junk to make room for it. Guess I’d better get offline and get to work on that. It’s storming now anyway, so I need to unplug the computer.

Emily

One Response to Cool site, cold weather

  1. Laura says:

    oooo I signed up for Framingham Mass!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

