Fireflies

When we were kids, we’d capture fireflies in a jar, hoping to bring them inside to light up our rooms. Somehow it never worked. Fireflies aren’t meant to be captives. They’re meant to be free spirits, slipping through the evening shadows to bring delight to a child’s eyes for a fleeting moment before moving on to brighten up someone else’s darkness.

Little Georgia finished her work this afternoon and left us all richer for having known her.

It came to me that she and Adeline are like fireflies, sharing their light with us for an instant before fading into the twilight.

This hymn has been running through my thought all day:

Mother’s Evening Prayer

O gentle presence, peace and joy and pow’r;
O Life divine, that owns each waiting hour,
Thou Love that guards the nestling’s falt’ring flight!
Keep Thou my child on upward wing tonight.

Love is our refuge; only with mine eye
Can I behold the snare, the pit, the fall:
His habitation high is here, and nigh,
His arm encircles me, and mine, and all.

O make me glad for ev’ry scalding tear,
For hope deferred, ingratitude, disdain!
Wait, and love more for ev’ry hate, and fear
No ill, since God is good, and loss is gain.

Beneath the shadow of His mighty wing;
In that sweet secret of the narrow way,
Seeking and finding, with the angels sing:
“Lo, I am with you alway,” — watch and pray.

No snare, no fowler, pestilence or pain;
No night drops down upon the troubled breast,
When heaven’s aftersmile earth’s teardrops gain,
And mother finds her home and heav’nly rest.

Mary Baker Eddy

Godspeed, little fireflies. Thank you for sharing your beautiful light with us, if ever so briefly.

Aunt Emily

9 Responses to Fireflies

  1. Laura says:

    oh my dear girl, soooo much love to you and those sweet little ones…

  2. ~Kathryn~ says:

    oh emily – how terribly sad … love to you and your family
    sending many prayers and good wishes to you all

  3. Walt Temple says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family with love.

  4. Kent & Mary Sue says:

    Please accept our heartfelt sympathy for you and your family.

  5. Lulu says:

    Your analogy of the fireflies made me cry, please give my condolence to your brother and his wife,
    big hugs!

  6. Roger says:

    Emily, I definitely will keep you and your family in my prayers. I know the Lord will give you and your family strength during this difficult time.

  7. Marvin says:

    Very moving Emily. My heart and prayers go out to you, family and the little girls who didn’t get much of an opportunity to let their little lights shine.

  8. Jean says:

    Emily, thank you. Fireflies…the most beautiful part of a summer’s evening. What a poetic–and fitting–way to remember two such fragile fighters. From now on, whenever I see fireflies, I’ll look for the ones named Addie and Georgia.

  9. genie says:

    This is genie from the old corkboard. I heard about your loss through the grapevine. I wanted to come and express my condolences to you and your family. Other than that, I hope you are doing well!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers

