Rain

It’s been pouring here. My garden loves it — I went out this evening after work and looked at the plants, and they are absolutely thriving. The Jacob’s cattle beans have tripled in size in the last two days, and I’ve got tons more seedlings coming up.

I hope my sunflowers come up pretty soon. Sunflowers are my favorite. I want them to do well.

A female cardinal came and perched on top of the pergola today. She was really cute. I was on the phone with a friend when I saw the bird, so I didn’t get a picture. I’m sure I’ll see her again, though. We have a pair of cardinals that spend a lot of time in the yard.

Emily

2 Responses to Rain

  1. It is obvious that you are actively involved in quality activities such as gardening and that such activity brings you happiness and joy. What a shame it is that gardening will probably decrease in importance in the coming years because the “magic of the garden” is losing its appeal on our youth. Why? Because our teens are busy playing with their online games, listening to their ipods, talking for hours at a time to their friends on their cell phones, driving around with their friends, or simply hanging out and partying with their friends. In a word, many of our young people are staying away from outdoor physical activity like they would stay away from the plaque.

    Personally, I think there is something almost magical about working with your hands in the soil. There is something to be said about the “connection with the earth” that is intrinsic to gardening. I recently received a “remember when” email that discussed how those of us who are fifty or older lived back in the day: the healthy activities we used to be engaged in, the respect we had for teachers, police, and for others in authority, the lack of gangs, drugs, thugs, and crime in the school, and the safety we used to feel about life in general. This email brought tears to my eyes as I reflected on the trash and crap I listen to every time I hear the news on the radio or TV. I always thought that “progress” meant keeping what is “good” and what works and getting rid of or improving upon things that are problems or that don’t work. Somehow in our infinite wisdom we have done just the opposite.

    In any event, it is so refreshing to hear about someone like you who is grounded in activities and beliefs that are solid and that will stand the test of time.

  2. Thanks for the kind words.

    I wouldn’t get too discouraged about the future. I grew up on Q*Bert and Pac-Man and played both for hours on end. I was more interested in sitting in my room, listening to my Neil Diamond records, or driving around with my best friend, our favorite tapes blaring from the speakers, than in planting herbs or turning compost. Our priorities and interests tend to change as we age.

    Personally, I find that technology often frees me up to spend more time outside, not less. For instance: I like to load up my iPod Shuffle with Julia Wade albums and spirituality.com Podcasts to keep my thoughts elevated while I run on the river trail, and having a cell phone close at hand actually allows me to spend more time outside instead of having to stay inside to catch a call.

    One of my fondest memories is of the wonderful sense of peace that swept over me at the end of a hard day as I stood in the midst of the quiet productivity of my garden, cell phone in hand, listening to my practitioner’s gentle voice and watching my bees come and go from their hive.

    Certainly we have a long way to go, and certainly not all our progress has been forward. But I wouldn’t be too quick to dismiss technology as detrimental to society or to write off teenagers for being … well … teenagers. It’s been my experience that the relative merits of a tool are dependent on the hands that use it, and most teenagers possess more wisdom than we realize; it just takes some of them a while to grow into it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

