Signs of life

WOW … there is SO much going on in the yard today!

I went out to see what was happening after Ron put the dogs out and announced that there was a dandelion blooming in the back yard. It wasn’t just blooming — it had already gone to seed!

I got dressed and went out to see what else was happening in my yard. Here is what I found:

1. The dandelion
Dandelion

2. Some kind of groundcover behind the back fence
Ground cover

3. Two kinds of garlic coming up
Garlic

More garlic

4. Purple deadnettle blooming
Purple deadnettle

5. Holly
Holly

6. An old wasp’s nest and a spider web with egg sacs in it next to the front door
Wasp nest

7. Some kind of plant coming up in the flower bed (I don’t know what it is; probably a weed)
Whatsit

8. Wild carrot
Wild carrot

9. A sapling (I don’t know what kind) putting out buds. Funny … I never even noticed this thing growing next to the house, and it’s already taller than I am!
Bud

10. Those berries I was talking about the other day. Upon inspecting the leaves more closely, I realized it’s definitely not holly — the leaves are too thin and not glossy and rigid like holly — but I still have no idea what it is. Pretty, anyway.

Berries

Oh, and I heard the rooster this morning, too. We think he’s probably a little guy, because he isn’t very loud.

It’s a beautiful day, and I’m going to go spend part of it with my friend Beverly and her dog. Maybe we can go for a walk and soak up some of this gorgeous sunshine.

I’d better get offline here. I need to take a shower, figure out where I put my clicker and Scout’s old training leash, and pick up a jar of bacon bits.

If I have time this weekend, I’m going to walk along the river trail and take some pictures. A guy at work told me a trick to make my camera turn sunlight into diamonds sparkling on the water, and I want to see if I can do it. I’ll post it here if I figure it out.

Have a good day, and go play outside for a few minutes. See what there is in your yard to make you smile.

Emily

3 Responses to Signs of life

  1. M.T.Nester says:

    The garden clubbers say that there is an evergreen variety of bittersweet. Someone brought some to the last meeting I attended and it looked like your photo. The husks were bright yellow and they blew away in the wind to reveal the orange-red berries they had protected.

  2. It looks a lot like bittersweet, but the stuff I read online said bittersweet is a vine, and these are great big bushes, with branches and twigs and stuff. But I was thinking we had a bittersweet bush in the yard when I was little. Am I remembering that right?

  3. M.T.Nester says:

    We had pyracantha. Wicked stuff to have around kids unless you’re trying to make a barrier hedge that will protect them from intruders. Ours was double-wicked–it had a hornet’s nest at the base that covered about 4 square feet. Discovered it while mowing one day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 699 other followers

